Keeping Your Deleted Browser History Secure

Keeping Your Deleted Browser History Secure
Keeping Your Deleted Browser History Secure

A good number of people prefer to delete the application and browser history so as to get this deleted browser history far from prying eyes. Deleting or clearing the cache frequently also helps to conserve space on a computer’s hard drive. This is a function that’s available on various browsers and it’s a very simple and straightforward procedure. This piece presents an overview of how to carry out this action on the most popular internet browsers.

On Google Chrome, users are allowed to clear the whole cache with a few taps and clicks. In order to do this, the user has to proceed to the Chrome settings and locate the page that provides access to clear the browser data. The fastest way to do this is to enter the following in the browser bar: chrome://settings/clearBrowserData.

To delete a particular set of data, the user has to select from one of the following items; download history, browsing history, cookies, cached images and files, other site and plugin data. Besides the option given to delete browser history totally (option for ‘’the beginning of time’’), other time periods are available for selection. For instance, a user can clear the cached information from the last four weeks, the past week, the last 24hrs, and the past hour.

Keeping Your Deleted Browser History Secure

Deleting browser history does give people that sense of security that nobody will every pry or even find out which sites you went to. Also, saving space is something that you must do so that your computer’s performance is at its optimal level. However, do you know that just by deleting your browser history it will keep you secure? Some experts argue that it doesn’t.

Here is their argument: deleting your browser activities is just like moving your folder filled with confidential documents straight to the desk’s drawer from the work desk. Even if the folder is completely gone from common sight, the documents still exist and that they can be found easily with just a bit more effort.

This may seem a bit confusing for the average user, so let’s put this at a technical perspective. The message here is clear – the browsing history that you have deleted can be retrieved by parties with no authority over it, even after you have made sure you deleted them either manually or through a third party software. The reason? You only need to understand how your operating system deletes your confidential information and you will get the answer right away.

But before delving into that subject further, here’s what your browsing history is really is.

The browsing history of every computer is composed of different items like cache files, cookies, site URLs, search history, download list and so many more. Ignoring the rest except the cache files, they are easy to retrieve. Once they are retrieved, they can be the key to reveal all the files you considered confidential to unauthorized parties. Basically all your internet activities will be exposed to them.

What do cache files do?

For example you have visited Amazon’s official website for the first time. This site comes with its own distinct logo brand, they have their own checkout card, sign-in field and many other items that remains for a very long time you visit this site. This site displays thousands of products that about hundreds of them are going to stay in the site for a short- or long-term. So what does that got to do with the browser? This is how the browser behaves – they will save the permanent elements of the page so that the computer doesn’t need to download them over and over from a remote server whenever the user returns to the site.

Such a feature saves up a lot of bandwidth and speeds up loading pages a great deal. However, you need to keep it in mind that the browser caches everything that it encounters for the purpose of it might find it useful again in future browsing. This can be a photo, video, image, podcast, URLs, logo and so many more. So even after some time the cache folder will become a digital diary that travels around wherein it carries a record of each websites that you have visited, including the activities that you were doing at these sites.